Flourless Chocolate Beet Cake

Remember how I said my awesome sister was in town and we felt the need to eat a lot of food? Well, what is good food when it isn’t followed by awesome dessert? And what is a dessert without beets.

Oh. Is that weird?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I got the recipe for the actual cake part of this treat from XO Breakfast. I’ll be honest. It’s a bit “advanced”. It’s not for the faint of heart. Or the faint of beet. I’ll be extra honest and say that the cake I am showing you in this blog post was actually the second one I made. The first one was a disaster.

Flourless Chocolate Beet Cake | How I Ate My Box

The cake is super soft and moist. Which is good, right? Well, the first one I made was so soft that it stuck to the pan and completely crumbled and fell apart when I took it out. But, not easily discouraged, I tried again. The second time, I lined the bottom of the cake pan with parchment paper. I would recommend you do the same, because the second time it came out much better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Flourless Chocolate Beet Cake – Adapted from XO Breakfast.

First – roast your beets.

You only need a half cup, pureed, (unless you fuck it up like I did and need to do it twice.) So, that’s like one or two large beets or maybe four small ones. Use your best beet judgment.

  1. Wrap them tightly in foil and roast in a 400 degree oven for an hour. The time will fluctuate depending on the size of your beets. The beets are done with they are easily pierced with a fork and you can easily rub the skin off with a paper towel.
  2. Speaking of which, when they are cool, rub all the skin off with a paper towel. Then puree them with a food processor or similar device.

Second -  make the cake.

6 tbs unsalted butter
3/4 c. semisweet chocolate or chocolate chips
1/2 c. roasted beet puree
1/4 c. sugar
3 eggs, separated
a pinch of salt

  1. Preheat oven to 275ºF and line two 6″ pans with parchment paper.
  2. Melt the chocolate and butter in a heat-safe bowl set over a pot of simmering water, stirring frequently.
  3. Remove the bowl from the heat. Let sit for a few minutes, then stir in the pureed beets, egg yolks, and salt.
  4. With a mixer, beat the egg whites until the form soft peaks, about 5 minutes.
  5. Gradually add in the sugar and beat until stiff and glossy, about 2-3 more minutes.
  6. Gently fold about a quarter of the whites into the chocolate mixture.
  7. Fold the chocolate into the rest of the whites, taking care not to deflate them.
  8. Evenly distribute the batter between the two pans.
  9. Bake until a skewer still comes out a little fudgy, about 40 minutes. Cool in pan. (The cakes will sink a little in the center, allow to cool before icing.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last – assemble and ice

I made mine into a little two-layer cake and topped it with a chocolate ganache:

1/4 c. heavy cream
1/2 c. semisweet chocolate or chocolate chips

  1. heat the cream in a saucepan or small saute pan until it bubbles up. Immediately turn off heat.
  2. Add the chocolate and whisk until smooth.
  3. Assemble and ice your little cake!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Second time’s a charm, right? Look at my lacey cake! I saw some peeps on Pinterest making lace patterns on their cakes with sugar and thought I’d give it a try. Just find a nice piece of Granny’s lace and lay it on your cake. I stuck my cake in the freezer for a while so that the chocolate topping was hard and not sticky.

You need a way to evenly sprinkle the confectioner’s sugar. I made a little pouch out of a piece of fabric with a cheesecloth-type consistency and it worked nicely. But if you have a flour sifter or something like that, I bet that would work, too.

I love that you can totally see the beety redness in this cake. Mm look at all that nutrition.

Chocolate covered nutrition.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

*Check it out! This post has been entered into What’s In The Box recipe link party at In Her Chucks!

6 responses to “Flourless Chocolate Beet Cake

  1. Dude. Can I just say, I love beets. They are such a weird fruit vegetable hybrid, or whatever. This cake looks amazing. Also, as a super lazy baker, I can attest to the importance of parchment paper. I wish you were my sister… :)

    • Ha ha, thanks! Beets are indeed so weird and wonderful! I have to confess, before my winter CSA, they were a food that I was not very familiar with. They have since earned a very special spot in my kitchen. Thanks for commenting, and while I can’t do anything about genetics, you can definitely be my Pittsburgh-beet-loving-blogging sister. ;)

  2. i love beets! and beet cake! i have a recipe for one on my blog but mine has flour. it was a little odd to start – kind of beety…..but the more i ate, the more it grew on me. i now crave that little bastard.

    • That’s so funny! I love them too! You could definitely taste the beets in this cake. Although, I’ve made beet bread before, and you couldn’t really taste the beets. It’s weird how the flavor manifests!

  3. Looks gorgeous and delicious!

    I can’t wait to try this recipe. Just got a pound of beets in my box this week…looks like I am making cake :)

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  4. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #69 | In Her Chucks·

Leave a Reply

